The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Newton Fell

Newton Fell seen across the Kent Estuary from Sandside, Cumbria

I have commented many times before on how dynamic the estuary is. The high tides of the full moon have completely reshaped the mudbanks at Sandside, creating amongst other features these overlapping mud spits. This was taken early in the morning as the sun was rising behind me, the mudflats are still in deep shade while Newton Fell in the background is in sunshine. The tapering spit of woodland on the opposite side is Ulpha Wood.

A crisp frosty morning followed by a day of cloudless skies. The only walk I managed was first thing when I went to see the Hare Field. When I got home I absentmindedly forgot to change into my work shoes, and I rolled up at work in my walking boots. Worse, I left my lunch at home.

While sat in the office this afternoon, I watched a bank of mist rapidly roll down from Scout Scar into Kendal, leaving us enveloped in a freezing fog. If the hills around were high enough, there would be a marvellous cloud inversion to look down on. There may just be time tomorrow before going to work to run up Arnside Knott to see if the top is above cloud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.