The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

View home

View towards Arnside Knott from Helsington Barrows, Cumbria

It's no exaggeration to say that tonight's sunset was one of the best I have ever witnessed. I was on Helsington Barrows at the southern end of Scout Scar, and this was taken looking south across the coastal plain and the Kent Estuary to the hill of Arnside Knott. Our house sits on the side of the hill at the top end of the village - hidden in darkness.

I have posted 3 other sunset pictures with views of the Coniston Fells and Whitbarrow here. They are worth a look if you have time.

The freezing fog of last night had cleared by dawn, so there was no need to run up the Knott to see if there was a cloud inversion. In any event, I had forgotten last night that I had an early appointment at the doctor's. After that I drove to work through a crystal silver landscape left behind by the fog. The sunset tonight was compensation for missing an opportunity while in work to take any photographs when the rime was still on the trees.

I was hoping to pick up some new bird species at Helsington. There was an unfamiliar call, but I couldn't pin down what was making it, so the 2011 list remains on 81.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.