Manic MorFF's Pics

By manicmorff

Way-hay!

The boys done good tonight.

I don't really enjoy football much these days.
Unless you're watching top-flight games it's generally disappointing.
So I don't follow it much.

But back in the day, when I were a lad, I was a big Ayr United fan.
My family are all from Ayr, so instead of visiting the aunties, I would slope off to the football. In those days, they played in Division 1 and the Premier League, for a while anyway. We had good cup runs, we beat big teams, and I was there for quite a few of those games.

In recent years Ayr have dropped down the table, and leagues. Times have been hard and now they find themselves in the Scottish Division 2, and part-time too. But I still keep an eye out for the score on a Saturday.

Well, the boys (or the Honest Men to give them their bizarre nickname) have been playing well recently and are riding high at the heady top of the Second division and even managed a draw in the cup against Hibs last week.

So it was the replay tonight. Hopes were high against out Premier League opponents.
My Dad came round to watch, so we sat on the couch with all the old scarves, shouting at the telly, just like old times.

And then, at 19 minutes in, Mark Roberts skinned a series of Hibs defenders and slotted it in the corner. There was a bit of a cheer sounding out in the MM house, it has to be said. They held on well, pressured and absorbed the pressure and made it to the end. Time certainly goes very slowly when you only have a 1-0 lead.

So well done the lads, onwards to play St Mirren at home in the next round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.