Dave Akerman

By daveake

Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Moon After Midnight)

This has to be the earliest in the day that I've photographed and uploaded my blip!

With almost a full moon, and a clear sky, I thought I'd go and see what I could photograph under the very bright moonlight. So I wandered around the village taking some landscapes and some tree silhouettes, but the church I think works best as it shows the most stars.

Initially I followed the camera's suggested exposure settings, but then the pictures were at least 2 stops underexposed. I ended up using full aperture and fastest ISO available, plus the longest shutter time without going to bulb setting. Next time I'll try longer exposures with a lower ISO to reduce the noise, so I don't have to smooth that out in post-processing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.