Ness of Ork

I bought a bike to reach places beyond walking and where there is no public transport. Also to lose weight. I walk a lot, but it tends to be a looking for or watching wildlife or composing or taking photographs, so it doesn't exactly burn up the calories.

This is the 'top end'of Shapinsay. I haven't been to this point before...see above. I left the bike at Sandy Geo and walked along the point as far as Gany of Gersty and back. Not far, but as it was my first day out on the bike, I thought I better watch the energy levels. Not many species of birds around, mainly turnstones and shags. Two grey seals watched me. The books tend to describe them as roman-nosed, but I think they're more equine than aquiline.
I stopped at the Broch of Burroughstone and cycled back to the ferry via Frustigarth.

More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.