Day by day

By LizzieBeattie

Detroit Bridge

It's a couple of days since I loaded a blip, so I thought I should make an effort and I went down to the Quays. The light was wonderful so I ended up doing more than I meant to and ended up with too many blips for today. I thought I should show you this one as I like red. It must be the perfect shot as I haven't done a thing to it, no filters, no photoshop or even levels or curves.

I thought that the basin that the bridge crosses must be called something so I did a bit of research, and if it is I can't find it. What did surprise me was that this bridge is known as the Detroit bridge. It was a railway bridge elsewhere, but was moved here. From where, I don't know. It also looks like a swing bridge but whether it opens I don't know. Sorry to be so helpful, I'm a positive mine of information.

I didn't try hard enough - later "Detroit Bridge from Huron Basin. This was formerly a railway bridge linking the docks with Trafford Park. It was re-located to its present position in 1988." from Pennine waterways

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.