Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

Inventory

For as long as I can remember, I have bought music. At first, 45 RPM singles, then LPs, 8-track tapes and cassettes, and ~ since the 1990s ~ CDs (I was a little late to jump on the CD train).

These last several years, however, I've not listened to music so much, despite that one of my paying jobs is coordinating music for a festival. It used to be that I would put on an LP or CD and sit and listen to it. I recently was reminiscing about how I would sit for hours listening to music while reading every inch of information on an LP's slip cover. That practice waned quite a bit with CDs since they were so much smaller (likewise the print) and ~ as I became more and more involved online ~ music became something playing in the background. In more recent years, I tend to listen to news or things talk-related.

I have, therefore, begun to (try to) sell most of my CDs, so I'm in the process of making a list of them as "inventory"... I've decided that if I want to listen to music, I can either dial up Pandora online or listen to the mp3s I rip from the CDs I'm getting rid of. I've found that I just don't need the "things" anymore.

I have about two thousand or more to get rid of; I have about five hundred LPs to move. Some are likely pretty valuable; others not so much. Thankfully, vinyl has come back into fashion with lots of music listeners, so I should be able to get rid these more easily than I might have about five years ago. Unfortunately, CDs are going out of fashion thanks to iTunes, et al.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.