I Have A Cunning Plan!

By BrianWard

The haunting woods

About 2 kilometres north of Welton, at the northern tip of Dale Plantation, there lies this rather splendid mausoleum. OK, maybe not so splendid now, but I'm sure it once was! It's about 100 metres inside the woods on the approach road off the Riplingham cross-roads / Welton road going up to Welton Wold Farm. If you didn't know it was there you could well miss it. Certainly in summer it cannot be seen from the track as the foilage on the trees provides more than adequate camoflage. In winter, as long as you look into the woods at the right point, you'll see it, otherwise it would sit there, all alone, never looked upon.
It's quite a haunting scene, surrounded by trees, not so scary in broad daylight, but I bet at dusk it's pretty creepy! It stands around 30-40 feet tall ( I'm guessing here), so is quite impressive and well worth my blip for the day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.