The last walk

Packed, weighed, re-packed, re-weighed, and then left a couple of things out. Played some piano too. I must get myself a keyboard. One can always lose oneself in good music. Took my last walk around the beautiful neighbourhood, soaking in moments I would recall later, the nows that would soon be the back thens, like the rustle of dry leaves beneath my feet, or how the week-old slightly dirty, slightly crunchy snow felt in my hands, or how the mellow rays of an afternoon sun bent over them. Perhaps I shall recall those many silhouetted birds cackling upon the topmost naked branches crowding over the horizon, which finally found its colour at the day's end. Of course I will recall the cookies, the warm apple pie and the ice-cream. I tend to be sentimental and largely irrational - doesn't look like that will change any time soon.

Arrived way too early for the flight. Waited. It is an easier alternative than the opposite. A quiet way to end a trip that was all about the nows. Also got to know my uncle, aunt and cousin a little better and became a fan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.