Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Agave

If I was feeling uninspired yesterday, today was even worse. The skies over northeast Florida remained a battleship grey all day long. I suppose I should be thankful that it didn't rain.

The net result was a day of listlessness and lethargy. Stepping outside the house to take a photograph held no appeal whatsoever. Eventually, I ventured out at 5:10 pm and had no ideas for a photograph and doubted I would come up with one during my walk.

But in the distance, I heard the sound of a train horn. I quickened my step with the thought that it could well do for my blip. It turned out to be an Amtrak train and they pass through at a fair rate of speed unlike the freight trains. I was a good 80 yards from where I needed to be to get a decent shot.

Missing out on the train kind of summed up the day.

I decided to walk on a little in the hope that something would catch my eye. In the end, I settled on this picture of an agave plant. I have to admit that I did a Google search to find out its correct name.

I have passed this plant on numerous occasions and never really given it a second thought. It just shows what an air of desperation will do. Of course, the high contrast B&W mode gives it a slightly more dramatic appeal in my opinion.

Have a good weekend, y'all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.