While on my runs

By waipushrink

A few hours late

I am one of a motley collection of men meeting every six weeks as The Blokes Bookclub. Every now and then, a member suggests an intermediate gathering here in Galbraith's Alehouse. Yesterday morning, even later than the usual notice for a suggested meeting, one of the august members raised the idea of a few ales, and along with one or two others I could not get there at the appointed time.

This morning, my run to the summit of Maungawhau and back took me past Galbraiths, more than 12 hours late for the meeting. I have chosen this as my blip for today, which has been overcast and indeed wet.

This building began its life in early Auckland as the Grafton Public Library, and it has always seemed very appropriate that our bookclub's local should be in this building. The ales are excellent also.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.