random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Strathpuffer

Its over again.

Hard hard hard.

Ice tyres were great until they started sucking my energy. Worst for me was evening double lap - I could feel the weight of the night's laps coming.

The early hours laps were the most eventful - brakes ran out after the first, I was trying to get off the bike to allow the service team to change them and left my cleat attached to the bike. So the support team changed pedals and brakes for me, and away I went. Front wheel puncture somewhere on the downhill - just kept going and then up the fireroad back to base.

Asked for wheels to be changed and brakes checked and cleat fixing and pedals swapped back and ........ zzzzzzzzzzzzzz. After my zeds it was all done.

Daylight lap got a rear (pinch) puncture on the downhill - rode as much as I could - ok downhill but the muddy bit had to be pushed and then run up the hil wioth the bike until I met our pair and asked her if she could run (she had done a third again as many laps as me - so naturally she said no) and she was compous enough to tell me to ditch the bike and run the dibber (baton) up the hill for changeover.

It was a sort of a slow shuffly jog, but probably faster than pushing a bike - but when I got there no one wanted ot do another lap, and I didn't have my bike. There was time for another, I tried someone else's bike and then sense hit me - why?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.