"to notice"

By mnaylor

Real Life

I am fortunate that my life has me pass through sections of light industry, railroad lines just barely used but still present, homeless truck camps and other like encampments. We heard Wallace Shawn the other night read from his new book of essays and the first one was riveting in terms of "privilege". If we can sit at our kitchen tables and read the news in a newspaper, take in the ads at the same time we feel for all the sad/bad situations of the world, we are privileged.

I like that Shawn does not tell us what to do, and I like that I am a witness to my own privilege everyday like when I walk through this section of Seattle and also read the newspaper at my kitchen table. Just staying humble is not enough, but it is something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.