Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

In the beautiful bedroom

More gorgeous Callumness

There wasn't much to be done to this in Aperture, the light was so gorgeous on the balcony outside the boy's bedroom. I'd spent the afternoon up there with Reuben, playing letters, spelling (he's a rather good speller, aided by sign I'm sure) and reading books. Callum came back from Jaxon's birthday party full of excitement and joined us upstairs, showing off his acquired dinosaur party favour. In the distance I can see the snowy mountains, that is, beyond the sea of cables and urban sprawl that lies between us. I've designed this room from the foundations up, the adjoining minimalist bathroom with accessible design principles, the glass wall of the balcony, the huge vaulted ceilings, 5 windows and balcony doors, and the aqua palette but I'm jet to put much in the way of art on the wall as on that front, along with the lack of curtains (the boys like me are perfectly happy to sleep and wake up late in a room full of blazing morning sun), I'm typically indecisive. A huge wall full of my favourite photos in colour or black and white springs to mind, but then whether they should be random or ordered escapes me. It's my favorite room in the house, full of happiness, a few educational wooden toys, bright colours and peace.

Hoping Reuben will be strong enough to get back to school soon. He was so sad not to have left in the car with Callum and Jason today. But yesterday, the little walking he did really took the wind out of him and we have to be careful with his heart. That along with the infectious nature of coxsockie virus from which he's recovering.

Backblipped yesterday, the little sea urchin. This got me thinking about nudity, and the innocence, beauty and glory within, how natural it is, without myself thinking of how it might be portrayed. To do so I find really sad and I'm more offended by babes in ridiculous granny hats or children wearing makeup and dressed in adult attire fit for a child's beauty pageant. Do we not find great irony in that debate: that a toddler's nudity is often unacceptable when there are rows of gorgeous and well respected photographic books gracing the libraries full of the beauty of that nudity, bare naked babies? Is that not part of the great Renaissance, the revival of classical beauty? It feels indeed like descension back to the middle ages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.