Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Springtime blooms

I wanted to capture Reuben today as they played in the flowers late this afternoon, but my focus wasn't performing for me and the boys were just too quick.

We may not yet be into Spring but the huge corner lots of flowers in an otherwise urban sprawl is in full bloom. It takes me back to last year in the same spot. It's strange how luminous these flowers are, even checking back to the SOOC to see them quite the same. Their petals closing in as the sun descends and the evening light fills the void behind us.

Reuben's still off school due to coxsockie virus being contagious. I'm hoping to take him back on Wednesday, but I can't help but think his signing has had a little leap ahead with the homeschooling we've done.

Spent the afternoon at the hardware store choosing an aqua paint for the playroom and some off white to repaint some laminate furniture and duly arrived home without my purchases. Not sure where I left my brain. Ah well, at least the lavenders I bought for their balcony have made it back and they helped me water them in.

If I get my act together and fill in the backBlips tonight, tomorrow may be my 400th.

The most hilarious thing happened tonight. Callum came running to me from his plastic chair - we were eating dinner round the red plastic IKEA table - and I had a glass of sparkling in my hand left from the weekend and, with his cup smashing into mine he cried "Cheers!" and thinking himself so funny kept running between us repeating himself. I haven't cheers'ed since Boxing Day and this is the first time he's said it.

I know the days of him babbling full conversations with such contagious intonation, peppered with recognisable words and phrases, are to be short lived now. He's on the cusp of speaking everything very clearly now and I should somehow try to capture this leap in speech before it's gone forever.

Edit: 102.3 fever, HR 140+. Reu's back in the ambulance to ER...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.