What morning felt like

I wake up. It isn't time yet but the curtains are aglow waiting for sunrise. The bike needs a few last minute touches. It is important to know how to repair a bike given how much I ride. I'll gradually grow my arsenal.

The morning sky has hints of colour which will disappear with the day. Naturally it isn't like the other place where the beautiful light and proximity to nature would inspire you to pick the camera up and wander outdoors. So, as it happens, I look around the house. I look around without a plan or a thought. A part of the mind is bustling because it's morning and it has had its rest. Except that I don't have direct access to it, but I let it direct me. That is the joy of photography. I haven't been able to assign a specific genre or label to what I shoot and that's the key, I think. The more rigid we become in our quest for certainty, we betray self-doubt and pave our way for difficulties. What it essentially does is prevent us from staying a few steps ahead of change.

So yes, I look around, I compose and I expose, and the more spontaneous it is, the more honest it is, the happier I am. Gives me a puzzle to look into and unravel. For the viewer of course it may have no value but I end up unabashedly choosing the former.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.