Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Sopping wet

I finished my book in the early hours, cozily wrapped up in bed. I slept through until midday and woke feeling a good bit better, still sneezing (always in sets of three for some reason), but no longer sniffling with a runny nose. After a leisurely brunch I decided to try my luck and go out for more essential groceries, taking the camera along just in case I might stumble on something blippable. The forecast had been for heavy rain, but there was no sign of wet around, the sun was shining tantalisingly into the house, and getting an outdoor shot looked really promising -- until I stuck my nose out the door, that is. As if it sensed my presence, the sun vanished, the clouds rolled in, and the wind built up. Undeterred, I hopped in the car and off I went, without any particular destination in mind.

By the time I got to a T-junction which would take me either into town or out to the Clontarf seafront, things had got much worse, so I decided against city streets, reasoning that I should still have fifteen minutes or so to get a blip in the can before things turned really nasty. It was all I could do to stay upright along the seafront, so I quickly abandoned that idea and headed for Clontarf Castle instead, intending to have a cup of coffee and resort to yet another indoor shot. By the time I got there it was raining in earnest. I never got inside. As the rain got heavier and heavier and the wind blew harder and harder (actually rocking the car at one stage), I sat in the car in the hotel car park and amused myself taking macro shots of the raindrops doing their fascinating thing on the car windows. I did something like this before, but the G9's macro performance is so much better than the A620's that I was able to get much more of an abstract effect this time.

After that it was on to the local supermarket to pick up the groceries I'd set out for in the first place, then straight back home for food, heat, rest and more hot drinks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.