Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Feeling poorly

The cold which I was first aware of yesterday morning really took hold last night and today. I've spent most of the day tucked up cozily in bed with my latest book, racing through it in between bouts of sleep, moments of pill popping and slurps of hot drinks.

I only ventured out of bed a few times. I'm glad I did, since Blip-checking when I did so made me aware of first Northern's and then Flick's 300th blips -- how wonderfully appropriate that their big moments should fall on the same day! While up and about this last time I let my eye roam around in hopes of finding something bright and cheerful to blip which might stop me feeling sorry for myself. This fits the bill nicely. It's a close-up of a pin-on artificial daffodil which I got in return for a contribution to last year's Daffodil Day, the annual fundraiser for the Irish Cancer Society. This blip serves the dual purpose of cheering me up with its bright colours and putting my silly cold into proportion when compared to all the other people who are so much worse off than I am.

I'm off back to bed now to see how Peter James manages to unravel the complicated plot he's woven. I've stayed up and about only long enough for some more pills and hot drinks, and to upload this and to back-post for Saturday and Sunday. I hope this rotten cold will have cleared up tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.