Dave Akerman

By daveake

Pin-nacle of photography

I thought I'd try one of those pinhole adapters on my EOS400D body. It's basically a body cap with a small etched metal plate mounted in the centre. It works at at a focal length of 42mm and an aperture of f/168! Hence pretty slow exposures, and a great depth of field (not that anything is actually sharp of course!).

To show the DoF I took this shot of some plastic flowers temporarily transported to our garden.

The other thing that a pinhole adapter gives you is an alarming insight to the amount of dust on your sensor! I did a quick clean with a blower and a pen, which (from the evidence of this shot before editing) merely moved most of the dust towards the corners! At least now I have a tool for really checking on how well I've cleaned the dust off ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.