Joe's Blips

By joesblips

Trees and Reed Bed

Whoooeee! Thanks to everybody who voted my tree from yesterday into the spotlight. That makes two in a row. I must be going somewhere at last.

I have had several folk ask me how this layering technique is done. It's not at all difficult but would take a little too long to describe here, so it will become the next technique to be described on my blog. For the address of this take a look at "about this journal" whenever on my journal page. I might get it done tonight but if not, then I will do my best for tomorrow.

This morning I went in search of new trees. The countryside around here is peppered with them of course but actually being able to get a reasonable shot is another matter. All the really good ones seem to be at the roadside, but on blind bends etc where one can't pull over. Sod's law. Most of the rest of them have power pylons, modern houses and all sorts of stuff either beside them or too close for comfort. Sod's law again. After a lot of scouting today, I eventually found this one with a large reed bed behind it. I used to live nearby this spot but never noticed it before.

The texture applied today is not as strong as the previous two. I thought maybe it was time to go for a shot which looks more like it is on a rough watercolour paper rather than something really old and mottled. See what you think. Which is the better treatment in your view?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.