Dar od Polski

Or a gift from Poland in English.

One of my work colleagues, Mariusz, was heading home to Poland for the Christmas holidays. I asked him if I could send some cash over with him and get him to grab me a bottle of my favourite vodka ?ubrówka. I saw him today and got the bottle of him, but he refused to take any money. I was quite touched.

I was quite impressed with the bottle anorak that it came in as well. In addition to it being a gimmick it also apparently keeps it cold for longer if you've stored it in the fridge or freezer.

I never used to be a great fan of vodka. I'm partial to a White Russian, but was never a fan of vodka and coke or vodka and irn bru. I always did like a ?ubrówka with either lemonade or tonic though as it had a really distinctive taste. On Mariusz's recommendation however I'm going to try something new. Apparently the polish way of drinking it is served over ice with apple juice, so as soon as I'm better that'll be the first thing I'm trying. I also found a site with lots of other suggestions for it here.

thanks Mariusz!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.