Appreciation

By Appreciation

When I Was Younger....

This morning I needed some distraction. Nothing works better than a good bit of manual labour. Back up to the allotment to tackle the overgrown bramble bushes which are encroaching on my plot. I hacked away happily, caring not a jot that they were scratching and pricking me.

My girl, I was sure, would have calmed down and been able to focus on her exam. I was calm until I saw she was falling to pieces. I remained calmness itself until she walked out the door. Then I fretted.

When I was younger, so much younger than today, there was no pressure to go to University. Only the very bright, some might say geeky, did that. We plebs just got a job and worked our way up from there. Today our children almost accept that University is their next step. I have never put that idea into their heads, no need when their peers do that nicely.

By lunchtime it was all over and we sat down together to allotment soup - what ever is available and stuck in a pan together. These recipes are unique and can never be repeated.

I bought these for her - they looked as delicate as she seemed this morning and cried out to be loved.

One down four to go. Now what music shall be have tonight? Needs to be hot and rockin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.