Only prayer is Thank You

By gr8tfulkaren

Snow Day

It was a tough choice today. Many of my favorite places and things were coated in white. Somehow, a frosting of snow highlights all of the beautiful things in life. My favorite trees were frosted with snow. The woods had that silent, still sound that only comes with a heavy snow. The birds were abundant at the feeders, chirping and singing, little bursts of color and life in the cold. There were even Robins up in the tree tops (early this year it seems). The creek traveled on like it has done for hundred's of years bordered by snow covered saplings and vines. That is another blip, perhaps when the wild roses are blooming in the summer.....

Anyway, this shot has one of my favorite places - my ever expanding flower garden. I know under all that snow life is just waiting to explode forth from the ground into color and texture. In the corners are the branches of my favorite trees reaching out and up towards the sun. Watching me through the arbor is Roscoe - another good old dog. The arbor is a new favorite. I have wisteria planted in hopes that one day the vine will enshroud the entire arbor. The daffodils and tulips are barely peeking through the ground under the snow. The irises are waiting. The bee balm will return. And when the flowers come back, there will be butterflies, hummingbird moths, toads, bees, and the occasional little miracle that is a hummingbird.

I am rambling on about things we cannot see. The snow and cold are lovely but I am a fair weathered friend anxiously awaiting warm weather and a yard full of color and life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.