red and white

Spent the whole day indoors, L had a temperature last night and could therefore not go to school and since B had to go to several appointments I had to stay indoors for most of the day.

The kids were doing fine, watching a bit more tv than necessary possibly but some days that's the way it is.

More of an emergency blip, I was going to take a nice sunny picture but the sun disappeared in the afternoon to leave grey uniteresting sky behind. These six spots don't have any real significance although I got another Easy Reading book out of the library yesterday, another Alexander McCall Smith, "The Importance of Being Seven" and in it he explains why one of his characters, Bertie, is seemingly paused at six years, the age when "he is at that wonderful stage where he understands the world, but not quite; when his mother is still in complete control of his life; when he has yet to learn how to lie and dissemble, or indeed to be cruel, in the way in which adults seem to find so easy. His world is an attractive one - a sort of Eden - from which we know we are excluded by the loss of our own innocence."

Well, my world was shaken considerably when I was six, and I remember it well but I think that I held on to some of that 'Eden' and I'm not sure that we exclude ourselves completely when adults. I enjoy my childlike moments and am hoping to hold on to them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.