creative lenna

By creativelenna

important paintings

yes! important paintings finally got hung in our new home. This is not a technically great photograph, but instead one that is important to me. The painting and the drawing shown here were done by my great uncle William Glackens, an important American Impressionist in the early 1900's. The girl with the red hair that he painted is his daughter Lenna Glackens, whom I am named after. You can read more about William Glackens, here. The black and white (or perhaps sepia) drawing is a study for a painting called family group, that Glackens painted and is now held at the National Gallery of Art in Washington DC.

The sculpture on the cupboard was done by my husband's late father, Dr. Edward Deming. It is one of many we are lucky to have. The bandannas belong to the dogs! The pencil jar was made by me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.