Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Leech This

"For men tied fast to the absolute, bled of their differences, drained of their dreams by authoritarian leeches until nothing but pulp is left, become a massive, sick Thing whose sheer weight is used ruthlessly by ambitious men. Here is the real enemy of the people: our own selves dehumanized into ''the masses.'' And where is the David who can slay this giant?"

- Lillian Smith

I was gardening, and as I pulled out a bunch of grass and other weeds from near one of our little popnds, I felt and then saw something on my finger. That something was browny and yellowy and slimy and fuuuuuuuuh! shake it off!* - but the damn thing was stuck fast. Eventually I did shake it off, and picked it up with my weeder to get a better look. It was the weirdest thing: one thick end stuck fast and the other waving about in the air. Once I put it down it moved in the oddest way too: it kept the fat end stuck fast, stretched out the skinny end, grabbed on, then let go at the back, letting itself be pulled forward. Weird damn thing.

A leech, I found out. Not the big burrow in and feed on blood sort, but still: a leech. Kind of ewww. ;-)


* I don't mess about with anything in this country I don't recognise ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.