While on my runs

By waipushrink

Adult cicada

Yesterday was an excellent day. My lovely S and I spent the day together, and in the evening we visited our one New Zealand based child, and her husband and sons, enjoyed some sparkling wine and nibbles. Good way to celebrate being married.

Enjoyed a run this morning, but the few photos I took fail to inspire even me with my obsessionality. Joined some in-laws for brunch; Oz based L intends to return to work in NZ, which will be good all round. Then back to the beach house for our last weekend here for a few months as next week the builders begin the recovery from the effects of last year's severe drought causing a collapse in one corner. Lots to do to prepare for that.

While doing so I saw a big spider. Not one I recognise (hardly surprising, really), and the only time it was in a good position for a photograph, my hands were occupied getting it there so no picture possible!

One rose has survived inadvertent neglect, and has flowered in the last week. Liked the macro shot I took.

However, while moving some things away from where the builders want to be in a few days, I heard the sound of a New Zealand summer; cicadas. One was very close and I spotted it on the trunk of a pohutukawa by the deck. Got the Pentax again, and tried a number of angles and like this one the best. This is the adult form of the insect which emerged from the cases seen in my blip last Sunday (here)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.