Clare's Symi

By claresymi

Clare, Symi.

As I am now rapidly approaching 100, I thought it was time to show myself.

Well, not exactly but almost. These are some of the results of (the only) two modelling sessions. The first was a photographic session with my friend Neil, on the left. It was back in winter 2004/5 and we had a lot of fun.

The second was a little earlier this evening. A friend who teaches art is currently working on potraiture and asked another friend and me if we would come and sit still for two hours so that a small group of his students could draw us.

I never realized how difficult it is to sit still for two hours and thought I could manage without needing a break. About an hour in though I started to get very stiff and cramped and could feel my nose starting to run. I really didn't want that included in any of the pictures so I had to ask for a short 'stretch & tissue' break. While stretching I also took the opportunity to grab a couple of snaps while the teacher teaches and the students listen.

Anyway, two of the students very kindly gave me the portraits they had done and they are included here. I must say, I was very impressed both with Ian's teaching and the talent and diversity on show among his pupils.

Usually, I don't write much and tend to stick to details about the photo and general Symi life. A bit of a change then today. I went out last night (a very rare occurance) and, for the first time in ages, had a chance to sing in public. It felt so good - I really miss performing. I'm hoping that maybe the 'jam night' thing that some of my friends set up last night will become a regular event. If you're really unlucky I may even see if I can share some of it with you!

It's Sunday and I keep forgetting to do this but this week I was determined to remember so here's my Sub Sunday nomination for this week: The Lincoln Imp. Great pictures and fantastic, very funny write-ups.

Phew - that's a lot of writing. Need a bit of a lie down now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.