PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Robin calling

Every morning, as soon as Robin spots me in the kitchen, s/he starts singing loudly to tell me s/he's there. (Actually, I think it's a he, as I did spot another robin one day, lurking in the bushes behind him, watching.) Today, he waited patiently while I took some pictures, looking more and more intrigued by the second. They were all lovely, but I particularly liked his expression on this one.

So continues what is becoming my mini-series of bird portraits. This same robin featured here before on 2nd December 2010.

If you have young children, they might enjoy my poem about this very robin.

ROBIN'S BREAKFAST

The robin stamped his tiny foot,
As if he'd like to say,
If he had human words to use,
"You're late with seeds today."

Then, as I scattered them, he flew,
Not up and far away,
But straight towards me,
Not to waste a second of the day.

He filled his beak most happily,
And looked me in the eye:
"Thanks!" I heard the robin say,
Before he sang, "Goodbye!"

poem © Celia Warren 2011

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.