Dave's Views

By davethespoon

End of the month sky

Got home from work just before five and to my surprise there were beams of orange light filtering all the way into the kitchen. Looking out from the bedroom window the sun had just broken through the clouds and was painting the clouds for a few minutes.

Ha, I thought, time to play with the new graduated filters. So here it is, shot from Isabelle's bedroom, quite pleased as it's only the second time I've tried using the grads but seem to have captured lots of cloud detail and not completely lose the foreground in shadow.

They were difficult things to get hold of I found. Ordered a set of Cokin graduated filters months ago and waited, nothing arrived and contacted the supplier to find they were waiting for stock. So I cancelled the order and tried again elsewhere, they claimed to have stock but no, it turned out they only had some of the parts. So I received a filter holder and adapter rings for various lenses, quite quickly, but no filters. Decided to hang on hoping they'd arrive for Christmas and then sort of forgot about them and learned to use photo raw graduated filter tool instead.

And then, just three days ago, one of those annoying little cards from the post office saying we've got a parcel for you but we're not going to let you have it yet. I made the effort to go and collect it and I'm glad I did. Not only a new toy to play with but from these first few tries much more effective than just using photoshop. I've stilled tweaked things in photo raw to achieve the final image and I don't feel like it's cheating too much really.

---------------------------------------------------------
I'm finding that orange in images appears more red once I've uploaded to blipfoto - anyone noticed this and able to advise on how to avoid it?

Yesterday's sunset looks pinker than it should and the glowing fire last week was more red than orange. Any thoughts most welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.