wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

These are a few of my favourite things...

Today I cleaned out the kitchen cupboards. This was a major task, it involved sorting a table worth of tupperware and other assorted plastic goods, removing a broken bin bracket, scrubbing various surfaces, and all those good things. I considered taking a photo, although it probably wouldn't have been very inspired.

Then thunder started to rumble. Lightening flashed. And the rain poured down. Our roof is tin, and the sound of summer rain is one of my favourites in the world. The crickets sing, the tin drums, and the plants audibly soak up the rain. We don't often get downpours like this. The air has a hint of eucalypt, grass, and hot bitumen.

I stood on the verandah for a good 10 minutes just soaking the smells and sounds up. And since I can't photograph them, a photo of rain falling will have to suffice. There are other more arty shots of plants enjoying the rain here and here, but today's blip represents all that is happy in my day.

And scones. I'm making scones tonight. They're not in the photo, but they will be a happy part of my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.