Master Mariner

By MasterMariner

Sailors Grave

Via a long and totally unexpected way, I was able to add this unique shipsbell to my collection. It is the bell of the ss Elout, a Dutch passenger vessel built in 1910 as you can see. It is not only because the bell is so old or beautiful, it is also because an old friend of my, passed away at the age of 87 more than ten years ago, served as a second mate on this vessel.

The vessel did not survive the second world war, it was bombed and sunk by the Japanese in Indonesia, the homewaters of the KPM, the company which owned the Elout.
If you want to read some more about the history of the KPM check this site

I am very glad that I have something which reminds me of my old friend every time I see this bell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.