m o s s t r o o p e r

By mosstrooper

The High Street Ridge...

...as viewed from Lake Windermere.

We left at a reasonable time this morning with the hope of arriving at the Lakes before 12 noon. It's a cold but bright and sunny day and the temperature is around -2. The drive across was breathtakingly beautiful and there was almost no clouds in the sky. As we couldn't check-in until two the plan was to go for a two hour walk, but because the weather was so good we decided to go on a lake cruise from Bowness on Lake Windermere instead. I'm so pleased we did as I was spoilt for choice with shots I could have used for today's blip. I changed my mind any number of times before I finally made my decision and chose this one. After the cruise we walked up to Cockshott Point to take a closer look at The Round House on Bele Isle. It's a lovely Grade I listed building dating back to 1774.

The Whitewater hotel situated in the Lakeland Village was only a short drive away. It's a pleasant looking building that used to be a mill in a past life. I made sure I took full advantage of the facilities in the Cascades Health Spa before dinner. We ate in the Riverside Restaurant and had a delicious three course fine dining experience. A good day was had by all and I'd definitely go back and stay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.