Doing Things Differently

By PhilWWalton

Once Bittern #birds

For the first time in a very long time, I didn't take part in the RSPB's Big garden Birdwatch #bgbw We were away for the weekend visiting and I just didn't get the chance.

So I made up for it today. After a quick visit to the hide on Astley Lake, I went for a circular walk, taking in the SIBG feeder station, Fleet Bridge and the river, Leamonroyd Marina and the canal and the Lock Keepers feeders.

There was a huge variety of birds, including a female Goosander, Tree Sparrows, Reed Buntings and a Great Crested Grebe.

The highlight was saved for my return to the hide. Late afternoon, one of the three (or maybe four) Bitterns decided to sun itself at the back of Astley Lake for nearly two hours.

This does not do the scene justice, but gives a taster. Great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.