Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Picket Fence

I seem to be in fence mode at the moment.

It was really late this afternoon when I set out on my photographic walk, almost five o'clock. I have been wrestling with Sitemaps and the like on my blog site and I think I may finally have put things right.

One notable success today was establishing a link from the photography Web site -- Calvin Palmer Photography -- which I know you have all bookmarked :-), to the blog site. So those of you who cannot get enough of my ramblings on here, have somewhere else to go to satiate your thirst for my utterances.

Maybe not. :-)

It would have been very easy to cancel today's walk in view of the late hour but I was determined to get out and about. There are only so many shots from my backyard that you can all stomach.

I framed a nice shot of a bare tree draped with Spanish moss and noticed a woman walking along the path. I thought if I could get her in the foreground, it would balance the composition. Unfortunately, she saw me with the camera and decided to walk in the road and ruined the composition of the shot. It ain't easy being a photographer out on the streets of Riverside.

A few yards further on, I noticed this old white picket fence, as opposed to a Wilson Pickett fence, and something about its age and slightly rundown appearance appealed to me. I think watching the 1950s film, Baby Doll, directed by Elia Kazan and starring Eli Wallach, Karl Malden and Carroll Baker, might have had something to do with it.

And, after all, the white picket fence is as much a symbol of American life as apple pie.

I must stop watching those old films on Turner Classic Movies and living in the past. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.