Southern Blue

As far as I can tell, these are Zizina oxleyi males. However, since I had only this description to go on I could be mistaken. If they are Southern blues then they are native to New Zealand and found only in the South Island east of the Alps. The blue colour depends on the angle of light.

Butterflies have been very rare in my garden this summer. Even with the blooming buddleia I have seen only one red admiral and a few cabbage whites. It was a surprise then to find these little blue butterflies. I see them in riverbeds and other wild places, but not in my garden before. Maybe that's an indication that my garden has really gone to pack.

Nevertheless, today I managed to put in 60 plants- cabbages, green brocolli, pak choi, tatsoi, leeks and a clump of chives, and I sowed rocket, spinach and pak choi seeds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.