Northern Exposure

By Northern

And the cupboard was bare!

There was a certain lack of fresh veg and other delicacies in the fridge this morning but when the choice is drive 12 miles on a horrible wet and windy day to do the weekly shop or get inventive in true Ready Steady Cook fashion and create something tasty and nourishing out of odds and sods at the back of the cupboard I'm up for a challenge.

First, bread! The Breadmaker machine is well worked in this house. Normally, just chuck it on and leave it to do it's thang. But actually I think it's at it's best for taking the hard work out of making dough and then I get the fun of finishing it in various delicious forms. Today it was 3 crusty french loaves, perfect straight out of the oven to accompany...

... lentil soup for lunch. Used up the last of our home grown carrots and tried out my new hand blender thingy to get a soup that I would have sworn had cream in it. Yum and enough leftover for my lunch tomorrow.

The only problem was what to have for dinner? However being the frugal housewife that I am (on occasion!) I had baked an extra few baked tatties last night. Mashed them up with an onion and the heal of a bit of cheese, one of our lovely yellow eggs a little bit of flour and some seasoning...tah, dah... tattie cakes! Add some veggie sausages found lurking at the bottom of the freezer a tin of beans and everyone's well fed and nobody had to do the shopping trudge.

And to finish off our feast, the dragon shared out the remainder of his hoard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.