must try harder

By halfcj

Leo Sayer!

I really missed those father & son bonding sessions Tom & I would have before dissappearing Gulliveresque in search of vocation and fortune around Europe.

[Personally, I think it was a ruse, just an excuse to inflict his not inconsiderable charm and good looks in search of a suitable and well appointed femme fatale across the cities of Europe who would overlook his dyslexic malapropisms in exchange for his aforementioned qualitys.]

Definitely arrived at the former, the later eludes him at this point in his career, but that is just a matter of time, and my alteria motive suspicions certainly have legs! Now back in the UK, he's become an iPhone bore...always on it doing something, facebook, youtube, iTunes, poker, Sky Sports....wait for it...Blipfoto!! (Yay!)

But wait, what about that guy the other side of the pub having a conversation on his phone. Why do we need to be involved? What is it about these people who need to involve the world in their conversation - not even interesting! - at the top of his voice, "gotta go now, really busy afternoon..!" "YOU"RE IN THE PUB!!!!" I wanted to shout back..."not busy at all!"

I was in a hardware store on the weekend picking up bulbs...must have been his brother two aisles down! Same thing. Must have been twenty or thirty people queueing up to pay, all with heads turned looking at this guy. Made not one jot of difference. No shame. I don't even answer my phone in a public place. I don't get it!?

Anyway, here we are in this pub, trying hard not to listen to the guy on the phone and order some food. I'm contemplating what to have when Leo Sayer comes on over the airwaves and makes up my mind immediately. Now if you're young (or maybe American?), I'll be hearing you say "Whoddat?". It matters nought unless you want to listen to his link above, because the point of my blip should now be a little more obvious for those of you familiar with cockney Rhyming slang, as a Leo Sayer, means 'an all-dayer', which in this case, made up my mind to have an All Day Breakfast! What's more, I cleared that plate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.