must try harder

By halfcj

Space invaders

First of all, congrats to stakhanovite for getting my blip from yesterday correct...for those of you interested, it was indeed a 'sash-window lock' and can be seen in full glory here.

Meantime, today I had a plethora of potential blips to make and it was indeed very difficult to choose what to do. Some lovely portraits of my B, the signing of Torres at Chelsea eventually coming in a close second, only because I find it completely bemusing that anyone can be worth £50million! In today's climate, for an English club to be paying out that kind of money beggars belief.

One of the things I have noticed on Blipfoto is the mixture of motives and moods amongst blippers. I note many who appear to have been 'unfortunate' in their search for a kindred spirit in life but on Blipfoto there appears to be no shortage of comforting advice (as well as many kindred spirits in the art of photography). Not something I feel able to contribute to as I am one of the fortunate ones who has managed to find their soulmate and the kinship simply grows over time as we approach our 30th year together.

Hence I have great difficulty in relating to the problems others appear to face in building relationships. That does not mean I lack sympathy. I simply find it incredulous that people waste any period of time 'making do' with anything less than right, which is a thought provoking by my blip tonight:

Whilst out in the garden looking toward London, there was an amazing glow in the clear sky from the Metropolis. Up went the tripod to capture it. As I stood there in silence, I hear a familiar sound from across the fence. A couple screaming at each other! Not private. Not at all pleasant. Our kids just don't hear such things. Having only moved in 10 months ago, and having moved away from neighbours who spent most of their lives screaming and throwing objects at each other, I was devastated to discover we now have more! (Maybe they followed us across town!?)

It was one of the houses in the shot, making me wonder whether I should even blip on this subject. Am i intruding. Invading their space? It made me wonder where the boundaries lie. Then again, my ears were being bombarded. Who's invading who's space? I hope they're not serial screamers like the last neighbours and they sort it out one way or another. I was sad for them.

Glass of whiskey, a good cigar, peace to all.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.