A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

No Tracks in the Snow

It struck me first thing this morning, as I gazed through the window looking at the new-fallen snow, that there are no animal tracks on this snow this morning. It's far too deep for most animals to traverse across. How odd that they know this. Normally fresh snow is the ideal tracking medium. I love identifying various animals on the newly fallen snow, but this morning there were none. It is as pristine-looking as it was when it fell more than 24 hours ago.

Schools are closed again today and there seems to continue to be very little traffic on our road. My Taxman is on an early flight home this morning due to predicted ice/rain storms in the part of the country where is is. That is a pleasant surprise. He is not at all inclined to think ahead about such things and normally would simply be victim to the weather, "Can't make it home tonight. Nothing I can do." I'm proud of him for thinking of himself over his employer/client this time. I mean really, in a hundred years who's gonna remember his dedication to his career? However, his great grandchildren might remember his dedication to his family.

Now I'd better get busy with my own dedication to a tidy house, fresh batches of soap, and a pot of soup that should be simmering when he arrives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.