Big Waves near Stromness

We are getting gales blowing in from the southwest. It may reach 80-90 mph tonight. I headed to the coast near Stromness to get some shots of big waves.

Out on the rocks I saw a roller coming and realised I'd got a little too far out. I turned my back and was swamped to thigh-level in white water. Because of the cold wind I'd put on ski-pants and they were tucked into wellies (it's not a fashion show out there!) and actually very little water got into my boots, and the skipants dried really well in the 80mph gusts. More here.

Had coffee at Breckness House ruins. Stopping in the lee of the rocks on shore I opened a book of haiku and the first one I saw was:

Coming to the sea
the winter wind has no place
to return
-Seishu



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.