OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Weird iron

I decided on a moorland walk today, and one I hadn't done before. I walked up the Jubidee road in Evie (or it may be in Rendall). There was a nice collection of ruinous tractors at Gallowhall which I photographed. Only problem was trying to avoid the phone-lines they were under.
At a ruin further up the hill I noticed this weird implement. No idea what it was for. It had the remains of a wooden shaft and there was an iron thing in the wall into which it might have fitted once.

I carried on up to North Kews and the little loch called Looma Shun. Not many birds about...some goldeneye ducks and greylag geese, a few red grouse. I got up to the top of Muckle Billia Fiold with views over Starling Hill and Starra Fiold, and out to sea. A sharp snow shower came in from the north, so I wasn't sorry to head down to the sea at Woodwick and walked along to Tingwall for the bus, photographing the Knowe of Midgarth on the way.

More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.