A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

Work in progress

New skill learned. Using layers and the eraser tool, with varying degrees of opacity, to create a single picture from three different images.

Read it in a magazine whilst having my tea. Thought I'd try it. Not bad for a first attempt.

Work in progress refers to the piece of art work you can see in the photo. The paints your can see in the background layer are the basic colour elements I am using (gold, burnt umber, burnt sienna and phthalo turquoise) and the brushes that have been used.

The final piece will be three canvases (each one is a 20 x 20 inch box canvases), which could each be a standalone piece, but will combine to make one complete piece of work.

It's a commission, of sorts, for a friend who asked if I would do something for her. I hesitated at first, after being 'burned' a while back and spending a significant amount of time creating a piece of work that I adored, to have it rejected by the commissionee on the basis that it basically wasn't an exact copy of an image that she had seen on the internet but wasn't prepared to pay for. I wasn't prepared to copy someone else's work, so I now have that one hanging in my living room and I will never part with it, as it reminds me that sometimes, I should just say "no".

However, it would appear from initial feedback by my friend, that she adores Canvas part 1, so I intend to push on with it this weekend when I try to do some 'me time' again.

It does my psyche good to be creative. It does my ego even more good to receive a bit of praise when my random creativity suits the tastes of other people too. Maybe this year, I will get around to exhibiting some work.

It's blowing a gale outside and the garage roof (as such) sounds like it might make a break for freedom at any time - the noise of the wind howling between the houses is actually quite disturbing. I will soon be going for a long bath and then to sleep, with earplugs in, pillow over my head and duvet over the top. I don't like the wind at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.