an image of teamdel

By teamdel

One in a million

About 4 or 5 years ago I was sitting on Southsea beach when I came across a pebble with a number on it, I then found another one. I was with my now wife and a friend and it struck us as a bit strange.

In the end I left them there and have regretted it ever since. You see about six months later I was reading a local website and someone mentioned that for an art project someone had made and numbered a load of pebbles and they were then dumped on the beach for anyone to find.

Since then I have tried to keep a look out for anymore of these pebbles with no luck. That was until yesterday when I came across this one whilst playing with Toddler on the beach.

I have looked into it more now and it is a real community art project where starting back in the mid 1990s locals made a million pebbles out of clay, that were then fired in a kiln to make pebbles. These pebbles are then thrown into the sea on a certain part of Southsea beach. This process is possibly still ongoing.

It seems that some of these pebbles have gone global, though I am not sure if they have all made it to their destinations simply by the tide.

Now I know where to look I will have to keep my eye open for anymore. Though I am really on the look out for another artists work that regularly appears on the beach, one of these!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.