Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Orion, the Hunter (again)

"To exist is to change, to change is to mature, to mature is to go on creating oneself endlessly."

- Henri Bergson

Too tired today: I just didn't have the eye - or brain - to see any shots to take. I got home and had nothing. I took a macro of the "Super!" sticker on Miss 5's bit of work from school, but the texture of the bench-top, while almost un-noticeable in reality, looked awful and ugly and distracting in the photo. I went around the garden and took a couple of roses, and the flower/buds on the basil. The latter was (I think) nicely composed, and had a good shallow DoF ... but was poorly focused ;-)

Miss 5 got to stay up with Mrs Tsuken and me this evening, as a treat since she started school and had such a great time. Once it started to get a bit dark I took her outside with me and my tripod, and we aimed the camera at Orion. It was a bit painstaking, with many test shots to get the direction right (very dark; nothing showing in viewfinder), but eventually got it framed nicely, settled on the settings, set a shutter delay, and Miss 5 got to click the shutter release.

This is the result: Orion is a bit more visible here than in my previous shot of him, where there are more stars visible. Unfortunately this had a longer shutter opening, and the stars have smeared a bit. I still like it though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.