While on my runs

By waipushrink

Their way is up

Our daughter requested some child minding for this afternoon so she could do something important; the time coincided with when S and her brother needed to be at the hospital for their mum. So, an enforced break from the agenda papers. Very needed, and I had a relaxing (mostly) time in the park with two energetic tearaways whose knowledge of physics and therefore the consequences of certain actions is really quite limited.

Many years ago I was given a book on the art of photographing children; long before digital. The author recommended using a telephoto lens (allowing one to be well away), and taking lots of pictures. I liked this one the best of what I took, as it shows their exuberance, their defiance of the usual (they only rarely slid down the slides, and mostly as part of a tangle of 8 squawking limbs), and their delight.

This morning's run was another in overcast humidity, and nothing remotely got me as much as this picture.

Because of the distance, I had the lens (an old 100 - 300 lens from my predigital days) at 118 mm. This allowed a greater depth of field than I would have got with a greater zoom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.