The way I see it.

By christinePears

Braal Castle

Another beautiful sunny day here in Caithness but with a sharp nip in the air and frost still lying on ground that the sun never gets to. I wandered off down the river Thurso in Halkirk this afternoon and the best photo opportunity was this old castle that is hidden away behind the more modern Braal castle which is now divided into apartments.

It was built roundabout 1375 and has walls that are 8-10 feet thick. It used to be taller but is now in a dangerous state with no entrance possible into it. It was owned by a succession of landed gentry. I am always intrigued by these very old buildings and it is hard to imagine all that might have gone on within their walls over the last 700 odd years!

It is getting noticeably lighter at night and I thought I might hold off for a sunset shot but have things to do and cant wait till the sun goes down!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.