Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

She Sells Seashells

Well, what a twenty-four hours it's been. First up, after a pleasantly overwhelming response to my 200th blip yesterday, I hit the Spotlight page for the first time. This is something that, in all honesty, I never thought would happen if I spent a thousand years blipping. So thank you to everyone who made that happen.

Secondly, as Blipfoto's resident guru on all things related to West Bromwich Albion, I may as well share a few thoughts on the sacking of our head coach, Roberto Di Matteo, this afternoon. My first reaction to the news was, harsh decision. My second reaction: it's been coming. Over the last two or three months, we haven't been producing the necessary results, and some of the team's performances have been woeful. I personally would have given him another couple of matches to try and turn things around, but then, I'm not the boss. Now, all that matters is finding someone who can instil some confidence in our players and ensure our survival. All the same, I wish Mr Di Matteo all the best for the future, and hope he goes on to better things.

So, on to this week's Sunday water-blip. It's a seashell! Of course, it put me in mind of the tongue-twister we learned as children, which incidentally, I had massive problems with. Not because I had any difficulty saying it, that was piss-easy. I just struggled to get to the grips with the idea of someone thinking that selling seashells on the seashore is in some way a viable business proposition, given that there's millions of the fuckers lying around free of charge. As far as entrepreneurial ventures go, it's up there with selling water in the middle of a lake, or rocks on top of a mountain. Woe betide the bank manager who approves a loan for this woman. You might end up with a lovely conch on your desk, but there's no way you're seeing a penny of that twenty grand again.

Don't sell seashells on the seashore. If you really have your heart set on peddling tidal flotsam, stay away from coastal regions altogether. If you tried plying your trade in, say, Birmingham city centre, where seashells don't exactly occur in abundance, you could be onto something. Plus, "she sells seashells in the Bull Ring" doesn't sound half bad.

Oh, and you can't have this one. This one's mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.