horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

John Thomson and some Weegie Heids

Both of us with the day off, the rain belting down, indoor pursuits preferred, and so we headed west (yep, it's wet, so we went west to look for brighter skies. And, remarkably, it worked (after passing through some really heavy snow at Harthill (whihc would now appear to be the 'Heart of Scotland', who knew...).

Burrell Collection first, for some general browsing (including the great wee Degas collection (see the art blip of a few days ago)), but more particularly for a photography exhibition of John Thomson's work from travelling round China in the late 1860s and early 1870s. The focus is very much on the people of the country, and it's an astonishing record. So much so that we bought the book...

Then on to the Kelvingrove, which was a touch of a let down. Stunning lovely building, and Sophie Cave's 'Floating Heads' are fun and whimsical and ever so slightly sinister and made me smile. Which made up for occasionally disappointing elements to the exhibits.

Good thing to do today after I sat and watched the whole of the Superbowl last night. It reminds me every year how much I like American Football, and miss the highlights show that used to be on Channel 4 when I was a kid. This must be my 22nd or 23rd Superbowl, and with it all in the balance still with 2 minutes to go it was one of the best.

Just need the Dolphins to do something about becoming good again so I've got a team to cheer.

Oh, and the Black Eyed Peas halftime show. Dismal. Out of tune. And then they brought on Usher.

Anyway, heard a friend from work has been offered a job in France, which is fantastic news. I don't here about the interview I went to until tomorrow. Not a moment too soon to be honest, still annoying things going on with work, including a phonecall message at 5pm tonight on a day I'd specifically said I wasn't going to be available. And reading between the lines I know the call is because they can't find something that they want to use to screw one of the employees over with.

Yeah, stunning old photography and giant floatin' heids. That's a better day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.