Plus ça change...

By SooB

Mid-Station

This is my first iPhone panorama - which I couldn't upload on the spot as my iPhone seemed unable to pick up the free wifi that was supposedly everywhere in the resort. And no 3G in Andorra either. (To send some emails on Tuesday, we had to drive to France, then find a layby that had 3G coverage.)

It's the mid-station (flat bit with ski-school half way up the mountain) at El Tarter. A sunny/cloudy kind of day - very very cold up on the top of the mountain. The kids wanted to ski in the afternoon, so we had a few runs through the obstacle course they have set up for kids, and then down the long run home. Conor did us proud. I had chatted to his teacher a bit about what would be a good run to do with him. He said anything flat as Conor was just a racer and couldn't control his speed. We gave him a good talking to (Conor, that is) before heading down into the resort on the long steep run; and he was good as gold, though I'm sure his thighs must have been on fire from snow-ploughing the whole way down. Katherine, meanwhile, is learning to keep turns parallel even when she feels a bit under pressure from steepness or ice - which is a great step forward for her. And I'm learning that the kids can't hear well through their helmets, so there's little point me shouting advice while they're skiing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.